Not Your Grandpa’s Blog

A blog to support our ELI 2009 talk

Looking into the Past

leave a comment »

I was doing a little research this morning for our presentation and I wandered into my delicious account for items tagged psublogging to see what I could find.  I came across an article written in Penn State’s student newspaper, The Daily Collegian announcing the new service.  It was published in August of 2007 right as we were giving away the first accounts in a very limited pilot.  Funny that even back then we were talking openly about the fact that we were hoping students would use it for things other than blogging — I pointed her to a post I had made when we were working to convince our own administration that this is all about personal publishing, not just blogging.  At one point while talking to the reporter I made the comment that I thought students could use them for taking notes in class and I recall her asking me to explain how that would work.  It took her a few minutes, but all of a sudden she had the ah-ha moment that you could actually use this thing for anything.  I thought it was a bit ironic given the online version of the Collegian uses the same system as the Blogs at Penn State is built on, Movable Type.

Written by Cole Camplese

January 18, 2009 at 11:36 am

Posted in Blog Thoughts

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

